Universal Decision Day… Stakes are up!

May 1st.

What’s so special about May 1st? Well, to normal students it’s just a month closer till summer vacation. But to us, the high school seniors, today is the day where we make one of the biggest decisions of our life. The Universal Decision Day. For those who are unfamiliar with this term, it is when all high school seniors decide on which college they are going to attend. It’s the day where everyone is telling everyone where their future is heading towards. For me, it’s no different. Even though I already deposited money to the college of my choice two days ago; I can’t help but wonder whether I made the right choice. I actually decided not to go to my dream school despite getting in. People aren’t joking when they said that it’s one of the worst feelings to not be able to go to your dream school. It’s even worst when I got in which proved that I had the ability to. Don’t get me wrong; I still like the college I chose; it’s more realistic ($$ wise). Today when I saw everyone wearing the shirt which said which college they decided, the thought of me leaving NYC and going away finally sunk in. These people I went to school with for 4 years, even though I’m not friends with all of them; we are separating. This feeling of separation and potentially not seeing them anymore is bittersweet. It’s sad to end this large chapter of my life but at the same time I’m excited about what’s going to happen in the next chapter of my life. For those who are also seniors like me, Congrats for getting so far! We all deserve a pat in the back! We should anticipate the days to come in this new chapter of our life.

Bye!

Elyse

Leave a Reply

