Hurricane Sandy…..

Hey guys, 

I just wanted to check in on my blog and I know that I keep disappearing and reappearing…But anyway I just wanted to talk about my experience of Hurricane Sandy. Thankfully, my friends and family are safe and I hope that everyone else and their families are safe. I was surprised that Hurricane Sandy had such an impact since where I live(I think you guys have already figured out if you read a few of my posts before), New York, we don’t usually get affected by hurricanes or earthquakes. Hurricane Sandy hit on last week’s Monday ( i think?). That night at around 8:30 p.m. all the apartments in Manhattan lost power. I didn’t have power until Saturday at 4:30 p.m. So I had around five days of no power. During this time I realized that I became so dependent on electricity the the extent that I was whining and freaking out that I had no electricity. I felt ashamed of myself because the situation could have been much worse. I should be grateful that my family and I are safe and that the only think that is affected is the power. But anyway, the subway stations and some buildings were filled with water and it is only recently that the transportation is getting back on track. Also, some schools including mine was affected to the extent that we have to temporarily stationed to another school. It was understandable since my school was near the sea but I don’t know the actual damages since I haven’t gone to school for the past week. I have to start getting use to waking early and going to school again. This past week I have gotten more sleep than I ever gotten since summer ended and school started. Overall, I hope everyone is safe and I’ll pray for all of you. Be careful and stay warm!

Bye!

Elyse

Leave a Reply

